...so there are people who apparently do not like Nate Ford? And that, to me, is not liking Peter Burke, or Emily Bennett, or - IDK, puppies, or joy, or liquid sunshine. You guys, NATE FORD IS MOTHERFUCKING AWESOME. Seriously.

No, seriously.

I get that he's not everyone's cup of tea; I personally occasionally think, AS MUCH AS I LOVE THEM, AND THAT IS A GREAT DEAL, OKAY, that sometimes, all the Parker/Hardison/Eliot stuff is...not overrated? But it's a lot. Like, statistically. Because there's three of them, and that's the way the show tends to parse out, but. For example: I love Eliot Spencer, and I love Christian Kane, but sometimes I do not want to see him cage fight again, or deal with horses, or what have you. Sometimes I just want to see Nate Ford be a drunken fucking badass who still trends towards #deathwish more often than not.

And if you don't, that's fine! That's how fandom works! As smarter heads than I (i.e., [profile] ficangel) once said: "You love what you love, I'll love what I love, and we'll meet in the middle and squee over what we can agree on." YES. Just, one of the things I love is Nate Ford, totally and irrationally, and I'm gonna start talking about that more. I stopped talking about shit back in bandom, when one opinion I held - which happened to OH WAIT turn out to be correct - got me shit-talked and called a bitch and a cunt, and I, in response, stopped fucking talking about stuff I loved quite as loudly as I once did.

ANYWAY.

Parker as Nancy Drew and Hardison as Encyclopedia Brown = WIN.

Eliot as Charlie Siringo, Pinkerton detective = WIN. I am overly fond of fights that involve slamming someone's head into a bar.

Sophie as Irene Adler = WIN, and also, I have read that fanfic, and it was great. (Also? Gina Bellman in a bustle. WHY DOES THAT NOT HAPPEN MORE.)

It is entirely possible I teared up at Nate as Ellery Queen (his father, James, played Ellery Queen for a number of years). It is also entirely possible the guy in the loud yellow suit was a shoutout to Archie Goodwin, which also made me tear up.

Oh, Team Leverage. Only you guys could take a guy being murdered in front of a crowd of people, including the guy's daughter, and turn it into an interactive stage piece.

Extra points for Eliot's perfect "why do the two of you keep doing this shit to me, Jesus fucking Christ" face when Nate introduces him as the crime doctor. His life, you guys, so hard.

(Here is the thing about Nate Ford: for all that he's changed, his life is still literally a shambles held together by duct tape and sheer rage. Look at Maggie; even back in S1, she was starting to pull herself together, from both the divorce and losing Sam, but not Nate. Nate careened off a cliff and ended up in jail, albeit with a much clearer sense of what he is - a thief - but not who. The guy who lost his son? That guy's dead. That guy died when Sam did. This one knows what he is, knows his purpose, knows he has people he loves - a family, in an ad hoc/nakama sort of way, which explains why I love this show so fucking much, because I am a sucker for that shit - and a woman he has very confusing feelings for, even now, after the (apparently really good) sex in San Lorenzo. But that's it. He's still trying to figure shit out, almost entirely powered by rage, and that gets tiring after a while. So no, it's not surprising that he does not really give a shit what happens to him as long as they get the job done, and it's even less surprising that it's exhausting him. So: not surprised by any of this tonight, more than a little worried.)

"When this is over, me and you are gonna have a little talk." And that talk is overdue, but God knows Nate isn't gonna take it well. It's called a sabbatical, Nathan. It's a good word. You should know it, you were gonna be a priest, TAKE ONE ALREADY.

(Also: now that you're an admitted thief, you will notice they actually question you more. You're still the boss, but you're allowed to give the boss shit when he's one of the gang. Quit looking irritated when they do that.)

"Nate didn't kill anyone. He said." I love that Parker has absolute faith in Nate. It's also really worrying, because when the crazy girl always and without question agrees with the archangel armed with a bottle of Chivas, THAT IS NOT GOOD.

--actually, if we're taking requests for weird subplot pairings (not romantic ones), I would be perfectly happy with Nate/Parker. And Sophie/Hardison. And more Eliot/Parker, because Wolverine and Kitty have always been my secret favorite mutant besties. Do not think I'm not looking forward to the All Ladies' ep coming up, because FUCK YEAH LADIES.

(Nate! You cannot play sad panda about people thinking you are capable of murder! YOU PRETTY MUCH ARE.)
.

Profile

iphignia939: (Default)
iphignia939

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags