Scream 4: I liked it, you might not. (I think I should preface every movie review with this, because I have weird tastes.) It really helps if you've seen the first three, though.

1) I totally did not see Jill (Emma Roberts), Sydney's niece, being behind the whole thing. This is possibly because I am dumb. I've seen the first three; you'd think eventually it'd kick in, if only because at a certain point, you start running out of people it could be. Because EVERYONE'S DEAD. Charlie, ehhhh, sort of? Although as soon as you realize there's two of them, anyone's who seen the original mutters "oh shit, Billy and Stu" and knows what's coming.

2) Grossest parts of the whole movie? Either the loop of Olivia's (the designated Hot Friend, and reeeeeeeeally reminiscent of Kayla Ewell to the point that I had to double-take when I first saw her) intestine, or Anthony Anderson getting stabbed in the brain. GAH NOT COOL KEV.

3) "Drink every time the refrigerator door closes and behind it is a harmless bystander!" "Drink whenever anyone shouts 'NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO'!" It's funnier when you realize Kevin's making fun of himself.

4) I actually agree re: the "fakeout" Stab 6 ending that the Saw movies make you really like Jigsaw but ultimately not give a shit who dies, because it's collections of body parts with names and not characters. And I say this as someone who has seen all seven Saw movies. (The only one I regret is 5, which, as the credits rolled, made another person in the theater stand up and yell, "WHAT THE FUCK WAS THAT?" And we all applauded him.)

5) I sort of saw the fakeout beginning, with that one dark-haired girl from Pretty Little Liars and Shenae Grimes, but Anna Paquin and Kristen Bell? Did not see that coming. Nice one.

6) Yes, I kept looking for TVD cameos. Shut up. (For the record, there are none, nor are there shout-outs. Which I appreciate, actually, but I didn't know if Ehren Kruger would've slipped any in during rewrites.)

7) One thing you can say for Kevin Williamson: he can write the shit out of a small town. The town from Dawson's Creek--no, I don't remember the name offhand--was quiet and sort of stifling, at least on a personal level; Woodsboro is basically the same, but with no water access and this low-grade exhaustion behind it, as comes from a number of horrible murders being committed over four movies; Mystic Falls looks sort of like Woodsboro, except in the Twilight Zone, because everyone's constantly drinking and people die, like, every twenty minutes and no one seems to be alarmed by it. Or notice. "Oh, look, another puma attack." NO.

Whereas in Woodsboro, it's--I don't want to say it's more realistic, because hi, fictional towns, but it's a place where violence came ten years ago (and right now), and it's left scars. They're like mirrors of each other, but with different gradients of light.

8) You guys, when did Kieran Culkin get hot? Rory's one thing, whatever, but KIERAN? I feel like firing people.

9) Jill is totally informed by Katherine Pierce, and you cannot tell me otherwise. Except, Jill, that Katherine would go through with her master plan and not tell the people she was about to murder. Points for just plowing through, though. If she wasn't a murderous, horrible, fame-hungry bitch, I'd approve.

No, seriously: she scratches her face with her dead boyfriend's nails and rips out a hank of hair with his hand, then rams a knife into her shoulder, plants it and the gun by the "killers", then runs face-first into a picture and bodyslams herself backwards into a glass coffee table, ALL TO MAKE HER STORY BELIEVABLE. In terms of evil bitches, THAT IS KIND OF AMAZING.

10) Gail and Dewey being kind of awkward with each other is reaaaaaally creepy when you remember Cox and Arquette are separated.

11) I do not really have an opinion of Neve Campbell; obviously, they couldn't make Scream 4 without her, and it works. She does a nice job with Sydney's whole "you have to make yourself not be a victim anymore" arc. But that, to me, is not as amazing as Sydney Prescott, QUEEN OF THE FINAL GIRLS. HOLY SHIT, YOU GUYS.

Her first fight with Ghostface is great: she runs enough to get room, then bodyslams herself backwards to knock him against the wall, cracks a picture over his head, and repeatedly kicks him in the face. THEN, in the end, after sustaining a near-fatal stab wound to the stomach, has a really mean chick fight with Jill at the hospital, during which Jill knees her in the wound and pops open her stitches. And THEN?

She DEFIBRILATES HER OWN MURDEROUS COUSIN. IN THE HEAD. And when that doesn't take? SHE SHOOTS HER.

I'm not knocking Jamie Lee Curtis, like, at all, but holy shit, I want to be Sydney Prescott if the situation ever warrants.

(Though she should maybe keep an eye out for Virginia, because Bonnie and Elena are gaining ground pretty fast.)
silviakundera: (Default)

From: [personal profile] silviakundera


I'm so excited about this movie, which fairly embarrassing, but I DO NOT CARE. (The original is one of my favorite horror movies evaaaaaaaaaaaaaar.) I'm so happy you didn't hate it. This gives me hope!
strina: anonymous woman cropped to neck and shoulders caption appearing tattoo style as "you're going to have to save yourself." (save yourself)

From: [personal profile] strina


I keep trying to talk to people about this movie, but all I end up saying is "SYDNEY PRESCOTT IS SO BADASS". Usually a couple of times.

Just, the look on her face as she shoots Jill! The absolute "oh, not more of this bullshit" matter-of-factness of it! The way she went horrified and scared when she saw Olivia getting killed and then ruthlessly choked it down, because FUCK that, she wasn't just going to watch this happen to somebody again? The way she obviously did the smart thing and got herself a shitload of self-defense lessons?

FAVORITE FINAL GIRL EVER.
.

Profile

iphignia939: (Default)
iphignia939

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags